Baltic Chain Tour starts from Vilnius


Today at Cathedral Square in Vilnius, Lithuania a start will be given to 25th Baltic Cycling Tour. Long tradition which started back in 1955 was on 24-year break til 2011. Organisers of modern Baltic Tour decided to name it Baltic Chain to celebrate probably the biggest initiative in the Baltics where two million people joined hands in human chain on the 600km road from Tallinn to Vilnius. UCI 2.2 category competition has five stages in three countries. Tour ends on Sunday in Tallinn, Estonia.

Twenty 6-rider teams take part this year. Altogether 119 cyclists start today in Vilnius. Although the tour is organised by three countries, there will be participants from many more. 15 different countries are represented this year. As every year many talented riders find their way to the Baltics. In front of the row will start last years’ winner Philipp Walsleben (BKCP – Powerplus) who is five-time German cyclo-cross champion. He will be joined by his team-mate Mathieu van der Poel, 19 years old road Junior World Champion 2013. Phil Bauhaus who represents Team Stölting won third place in German road championships this year and has been in good shape recently winning two stages at Tour of Portugal. Always strong Lithuanians have team leader from Orica GreenEdge. Aidis Kruopis is definitely someone to put an eye on. Team Katusha is represented with their second team Itera – Katusha. Kolss Cycling Team from Ukraine and BDC Marcpol from Poland hold high places in Europe Tour teams’ category. Country wih most riders is Estonia. Fifteen, mainly U23 riders start the tour in Lithuania.

Total distance of the tour is 851,8 km.

20.08 Vilnius – Panevezys 184,5 km

21.08 Riga – Sigulda 157,7 km

22.08 Valmiera – Pärnu 164,5 km

23.08 Pärnu – Viljandi 165,5 km

24.08 Viljandi – Tallinn 179,6 km

As in previous years’ events of the tour is covered with text commentary on tour homepage. Organisers of the tour have promised to show full video broadcast from last stage of the tour. Follow latest news on tour homepage

18.08 Tallinn – Pärnu

19.08 Pärnu – Valga

20.08 Valga – Smiltene – Valga